An Orange County employment attorney can explain that there are several important wage and hour laws in California. Employers are expected to comply with the following rules.
California’s minimum wage was set at $9 per hour on July 1, 2014. It will increase to $10 an hour on January 1, 2016. This minimum wage also applies to individuals who depend on tips for much of their earnings.
Eligible employees are entitled to overtime pay if they work more than eight hours in a day or more than 40 hours in a week. The rate of pay for employees who work more than 12 hours a day is double their hourly rate.
If an employee works seven days during a work week, he or she is entitled to 1.5 times his or her hourly rate for the first eight hours and 2 times his hourly rate for the remaining hours.
Once an employee works for five hours, he or she is entitled to an unpaid lunch break of 30 minutes. Additionally, employees who work more than 12 hours a day are entitled to a second 30-minute break. Employees and employers can consent to waive meal breaks. Employees are entitled to paid ten-minute breaks after every four hours worked.
Contradiction in Laws
An Orange County employment attorney can explain that if an employer in California is confronted with contradictory laws on the local, state and federal level, it must provide the employee with the more favorable allowance.
For more information on California wage and hour laws, contact an Orange County employment lawyer from Daily Aljian LLP.